Several of you have made comments about my affinity for redheaded foster dogs.


I never really thought much of it. I mean, it’s not like I really sought out redheaded dogs to foster. They just happen to be the ones who need my help when I am available to foster… right? Well… maybe there is more to it than I had originally thought.ย The other day Daniel emailed me at work to tell me about a really cool thing he’d found online called Doggelgangerย – “Human to Canine Pairing Software.” Basically, this software is utilized by the animal shelter system in New Zealand to to help humans find their Bowser, which is slang for a dog that looks just like them. He sent me a screen shot of the dog he was paired with…

A redhead with a black mouth and eyes…just like Polly Pocket. Daniel remarked, “I used to think you just liked to bring home the saddest cases…now I think you’re bringing home dogs that look like me!” Well, it certainly would explain why I love each of those dogs so fiercely – they look like Daniel, right? Because I was curious, I decided to see what kind of dog I’d be paired with…

Coincidence?! I think not. Apparently there is more of a science to picking your dog than I once thought! Go to Doggelgangerย to see which dog you are paired with, then let me know if you think it’s right.

* In actuality, there is a lot more factors that go into picking which foster dog will be the best fit for our lifestyle than just if they are our “Bowsers.” I’ll share the formula we actually use later on this week! *

