The last 24 hours have been filled with some good stuff and some not-so-good stuff.

For example, we found and purchased a nearly new Ashley Furniture sofa from Habitat Restore for less than $100. Pretty good, right?


The color brings out the gold flecks in Turk’s chocolate-y eyes…which is also good.


And the couch pillows form a nice crook for Turk to nestle into…again, very good (for him).


The not-so-good? We can’t sell our old couch and loveseat…we’ll probably just have to list it in the free section on Craigslist unless we want it taking up the rest of our living room for all eternity.


Another not-so-good thing? I defended my thesis and it was accepted, but with reservations. The “with reservations” part means I need to do some more work on it before it will be officially approved and sent on to the graduate school to fulfill that portion of my degree requirements. Keep in mind, I am less than three weeks from graduation, so the thought of doing MORE work is not super high on my list of “stuff I am psyched to do.”

The good part of it? Well, that would be the sweet bouquet of flowers and yummy chocolate treat that Daniel surprised me with as a “Congrats on Defending Your Thesis” present. He really is the best…



Another not-so-good thing is that a job opening I was really excited about was filled before I even had a chance to interview. I was pretty bummed about it, but I have decided to look at it as a good thing because it means that it wasn’t the right job for me. The not-so-good thing is that I am now officially on the job hunt, which is my least favorite kind of hunting (and I absolutely hate all forms of hunting). But again, I am going to choose to look at the bright side of this, which is that I can officially open up the ENTIRE UNITED STATES for my job search because there is nothing really tying us down to Kansas City anymore. And the job market within the entire U.S. (and U.S. territories…and other countries if they will let me bring my dogs) has got to be bigger than just the Kansas City metro area, right? So yes, job hunting is not fun, but I will look on the bright side of it.

Oh, and one more GOOD thing to end on…Daniel and I were finally able to visit the National World War 1 Museum and the Liberty Memorial over Easter weekend. They were both on our “Kansas City Bucket List” and we were excited to cross them off. If you are ever in Kansas City, I highly suggest visited the WWI Museum, it was phenomenal!

What about you? Have you had to turn any not-so-good news into good news by changing your perspective, or am I just ridiculously upbeat?

