The early January weather was so beautiful, I decided to get out in the sun and possibly drum up some interest for Ginger. So, we strapped on her Houndgear “Adopt Me” vest and headed over to Brookside, a little neighborhood about a mile away from my house. First, we stopped at The Roasterie Cafe for a little hot chocolate and magazine readin’ (for me), and sunnin’ and bully stick chewin’ (for Ginger).



While at The Roasterie, I dropped off a little flier with Ginger’s info on their community board, and struck up a several conversations with people about Ginger when they came over to pet her. With each person, I handed them a flier and told them to pass it along to someone they knew who was looking for a wonderful dog like Ginger. Ginger acted like the sweetheart she is, schmoozing each person who passed by, then going back to her bully stick and sitting politely.


After about an hour, we headed over to my favorite candle shop, 5B & Co. Candlemakers, to peruse their clearance Christmas stuff and to have Ginger practice sitting and waiting politely for me. Naturally, every person in the store came over to meet her, and I handed each of them a flier and asked them to pass it along to someone they knew who was looking for a great dog like Ginger…


I wasn’t sure if anything would come of our little outing, but I figured it was worth a shot to expose Ginger to people who might not see her at the weekly Petsmart adoption events. But I could not have prepared myself for what happened next…

