Yesterday, I explained a bit about my educational background, but Kate also wanted to know what I want to do with my M.A. once I graduate…

Well, volunteering with Heart of America Humane Society and fostering Miss Ginger Rogers has really changed my priorities in a way I never thought possible.


While my degree will be in Speech Communication with an emphasis in Marriage and Family Communication, I really have developed a heart for animal advocacy. I feel like the ability to communicate with the public is something that is sometimes lacking with rescue groups, and I’d like to help bridge that gap. I’m not sure where that will lead, but I’ve been looking into jobs at shelters and with rescue groups where I could work on educating the public about the benefits of spay/neuter or even specifically advocating for pit bulls. I don’t know what I’ll end up doing, but I know that I want to work with animals, so if I can make that happen, I know I will have a job where I feel fulfilled! Alright, enough about that…on to the next giveaway…

I have a minor candle obsession. Much like my love of yummy scented soaps for my dogs, I also lurve a yummy scented candle. If candles were crack, then 5B & Co. Candlemakers would be my dealer. I frequent the Brookside location almost weekly to stock up on my favorite scents, such as Tighty Whiteys (which smells like Downy fabric softener and cotton), Monkey Burps (which smells like bananas) or my holiday favorite, Santa’s Whiskers (which smells like gingersnap cookies and egg nog).

My assortment of 5B Candles is never far from reach!

One of the more interesting candles they pour is called Floyd. Floyd is the name of the owner’s black lab mix rescue dog. Floyd spends his days in the Weston, MO shop that Marsha runs and in honor of her rescue mutt, she started mixing the leftover wax from all the different scents into one pot to make uniquely scented pillar and votive candles. Because the candles poured are different every day, each set of Floyd candles is totally unique… just like a mutt! Oh, and for every pillar of Floyd sold, Marsha donates $5.00 to Heartland SPCA (formerly No More Homeless Pets KC), a local animal rescue. Pretty sweet, huh?


Now you have the opportunity to win one Floyd votive candle and another votive in one of 5B’s signature scents, packaged in a sweet, handmade gift bag.  Here are the details on how to enter:

  • PRIZE: See above
  • TO ENTER: Comment on this post with the words “I LOVE MUTTS!” and tell me what you think your dog’s breed is. Is it purebred? Mixed breed? If mixed, what do you think the combination is? For a bonus entry, like us on Facebook and comment on the link for today’s post. If you already “liked” our page, leave a comment on the link for today’s post for your bonus entry.
  • GIVEAWAY CLOSES: Tuesday, December 27th, 2011 at midnight CST
  • NUMBER OF WINNERS: One
  • PRIZE SHIPS: Within the 50 United States
  • USUAL STUFF: One entry per e-mail address is permitted. The winner will be selected using random.org and announced on Wednesday, December 28th, 2011 as an update to this post. I will also email the winner on the 28th for mailing address to send the prize out. That’s right, come right back here on Wednesday for the announcement of our winner. Good luck…

* Photo of Floyd taken from www.5bandco.com *
* PS – We announced the winner of yesterday’s giveaway here! Is it you? Check it out! *

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED – the winner is Andrea (comment #2)! Congratulations, Andrea!

