As I’m sure many of you have heard, Sandra from Kiss-a-Bull lost not only her home in an electrical fire, but six of her beautiful dogs as well.


Only Brinks and Bella made it out okay, the rest were hiding in closets and under beds and were unable to make it out. I cannot even begin to imagine how she must be feeling right now…I have been trying to think of something eloquent to say and no words will come. As I sit writing this, Ginger is snoring peacefully by my side, and tears are running down my cheeks thinking of the hellish ordeal Sandra is experiencing. She posted on her blog Sunday that one of her neighbors said “at least you are safe, they are just dogs.” I am sure her neighbor didn’t mean to say something so thoughtless, but for those of us who have experienced the unconditional love and support of our dogs, it is clear that they are not “just dogs.” They are our friends, confidants, exercise partners, snuggle buddies….they are our family. And Sandra just lost six members of her family.

I was going to start a week of giveaways today, but in the aftermath of Sandra’s devastating loss, it seems really trivial. So, I am postponing the giveaway for one week and instead, I want to encourage you to donate to a Chipin Fund started by Amber of Mayzie’s Dog Blog to help Sandra deal with the immediate needs that will arise in the coming days, weeks and months. The generosity of people in the blog community has been overwhelming, and so far, over $5,000.00 has been raised in 72 hours!

Please consider forgoing that morning latte or skipping lunch and instead, donating to Sandra’s cause. While no amount of money can take away the anguish she is feeling, it will help her to rebuild in the days, weeks, and months ahead.

Thank you…

