Some of you mentioned you wanted to know how I feel about being a foster brother…well, I’ll let you in on a little secret…I don’t really like it all that much.


Now, I know that may come as a shock to you, but it’s true. My mama had promised me that she wasn’t going to bring any foster brothers or sisters home until we lived in a bigger house because our house is really only big enough for a Turkey, a Rufus, and a mama and daddy. But, one day while daddy was playing with me, my mama called him crying from the place-she-goes-that-smells-like-other-dogs (she calls it an “adoption event”) and told daddy that there was a sad elderbelle who needed a place to call home for awhile or she was going to die.


Daddy can’t say “no” to mama, so before I knew it, Rufus and I were at a nearby park doing an “introduction” with Ginger Rogers. I didn’t mind walking around the park with her, but taking her back to my house was a different story. During those first few days, she would sleep on MY bed….can you believe it?! MY BED! I don’t like sharing my bed so I would jump on her and throw a temper tantrum to let her know that I didn’t want her touching my stuff. Mama would get mad at me when I would throw a temper tantrum, but what else was I supposed to do?!


After awhile, Ginger learned to stay away from my stuff, and mama let me help to teach her new tricks (which means extra treats for me), but I still get mad sometimes and bite Ginger. Mama thinks it’s for no reason but I totally have my reasons…we get along for the most part though, and mama thinks I secretly have a crush on Ginger…but I DON’T! Yuck!


I was pretty happy when Ginger was adopted…I finally had the house back to myself…well, myself and Rufus! But then, before I knew it, Ginger was back in the house and she always forgets about staying away from MY stuff when she’s away for awhile. I’ve heard mama say that if Ginger can’t get adopted that she is just going to have to be adopted by us. I sure hope not! So I am trying to teach her all of my knowledge I’ve acquired since my days as a street dog so she’ll get adopted by her own furever family and leave MY stuff in peace! I even agreed to show her some of my best modeling moves…she doesn’t seem to get it though…sigh.


I know I may sound like a mean foster brother. I’m really not! It’s just hard to compete for cuddles, snuggles, and treats with an easygoing broad like Ginger. Mama is always making a big deal about how well she walks on a leash, what a good cuddler she is, and all the funny elderbelle behaviors she has. It’s pretty tough to compete with! They don’t seem to notice that she sleeps on MY bed and MY side of the couch…she even tried to take MY ottoman a couple times! But I guess while she’s here, I’ll do my best to make her feel welcome…if I have to…


Any of you other foster brothers (or sisters) feel the same way?

