Yesterday I had the honor of transporting this gorgeous girl who was running out of time at a local kill-shelter to another rescue to be fostered.


You see, Miss Lucille Ball, this beautiful 1 year old pittie mix, had been attending our rescue’s adoption events every Saturday for about a month and while she got a lot of attention due to her beautiful pittie smile, gentle nature, and her affinity for belly rubs, as soon as people noticed the hot spots on her tail and back legs, they moved on to the “cuter” dogs.


Now I know what you’re thinking, “how in the WORLD could there be a cuter pup than this gorgeous girl?!” While I am inclined to agree with you, being a pittie with big red blotchy spots on your tail does not exactly scream “ADOPT ME!” to most people. But week after week, Lucy came back to the adoption events with a great attitude, just smiling and wiggly, hoping for her forever family to walk through the Petsmart doors. Dogs at the shelter our rescue works with usually move into “death row” status after about 30 days in the shelter if they are not pulled.

I knew Lucy’s time was running out and couldn’t bear to think that she might be put down. I sent a quick email to Jill (one of my foster friends who advocates for the death row dogs by calling other rescues and convincing them to take them into foster) to see if she had been working on a rescue pull for Miss Lucy. She quickly emailed me back to fill me in on the behind-the-scenes work she’d been doing for Lucy (which she does on her own time every week and never asks for any credit whatsoever…which I think is just amazing in itself). She convinced Heartland SPCA to pull Lucy and they had already found a lady to foster her. The only catch was they needed someone to transport Lucy from the shelter to the Heartland SPCA hospital to have her spayed before the new foster mama could pick her up. Could I do it? Um…YEAH!

So early yesterday morning I drove to Lee’s Summit to pick up Lucy and boy, was she glad to see me! As I drove to the animal hospital, quietly listening to the radio, I reached over to the passenger seat where Lucy was sitting peacefully to give her a quick scratch, and she reached her paw out and placed it in my hand. We drove along, hand-in-paw, for most of the drive to the animal hospital. When I dropped her off, I gave her a big hug and whispered in her ear that she is safe now….she scampered off happily with the vet tech and I left with a huge smile on my face knowing that Lucy is safe!

So, if you’d like to volunteer with an animal rescue but don’t think you have the time for fostering, consider doing animal transport – it’s quick, easy, and you feel such a sense of pride knowing that you helped save a life! So do it – Lucy wants you to!

