I told Ginger I was going to tell the story of her first date with potential adopters for today’s post…this was her reaction:


“Hey foster mama! You can’t tell people about my dates that DON’T work out!” I assured her that you have to kiss a lot of humans before you find your One, so she didn’t need to be embarrassed about striking out with her first date. After some trepidation, she put on her new favorite sweater from her foster grandma and reluctantly allowed for me to tell her first date story…


Last Wednesday was Ginger’s first date with potential adopters. Daniel and I tried to squeeze in some quality cuddle time with Ginger before the date, just in case it was love at first sight and she went home with them.



I also had a heart-to-heart with Ginger, reminding her to be kind and gracious to her date, share her treats and toys, etc.


After reassuring me that she knew how to act on a date, I just smothered her with hugs and kisses, just in case they would be my last…



Yes, I am the crazy, emotional foster mama and Ginger, as you can see, humored me but was totally annoyed by how clingy I was being. She was focused on her first date!

Ginger’s first date was with Miss Chris, her husband and their adorable 5 year old pittie Okie. Chris and her husband rescued Okie when he was just a puppy when they found him abandoned in a parking lot in Oklahoma. What an awesome couple, right?? Chris immediately fell in love with Ginger (how could you not?!?) but unfortunately, Okie was just a bit too excited/anxiety-ridden for Ginger to become his new sister right now. We were really bummed because Chris and her husband were so sweet and Okie was so well-behaved with the exception of his anxiety with Ginger. I offered to meet up with them to work on socializing Okie – not sure if they will take me up on it but I hope they do. They are totally the kind of people I want to adopt Ginger.

Even though this first date didn’t end with Ginger finding her One, it did give me hope that we’ll find the right people for her soon. If there are more people like Chris and her husband out there, then Ginger shouldn’t be too far away from finding her One. Besides, with a face like this, she can’t stay single for long…

 

 

