We had some car trouble a few weeks ago … I was pretty upset about it – so much so, that I was feeling a bit out of control of my life.

So, I posted on our Facebook page to see if painting the bathroom would help:


After some encouragement from my buddy Julie, Kate of Twenty-Six to Life, and Aleksandra of Love and a Six-Foot Leash I got to work. Nothing like a little encouragement from blog friends … am I right or am I right?

My bathroom has been on the goals list for quite awhile, so I was excited to take control and really get to work. Here’s how it looked before:




Yes, my bathroom also doubles as a laundry room. It’s not ideal, but that’s the joy of living in a 950 sq. foot house!

As Daniel noted, I have a hard time painting anything without getting a bit of paint of my face and in my hair – as evidenced here:


A few hours of The Smiths, Mumford & Sons, and Adele later (I was on a British Invasion kick), I felt very much in control again and my bathroom was F.I.N.I.S.H.E.D! It’s not perfect, but as Kate says: “Done is good.”

Without further adieu, here it is!




The photos are a little wonky with the color, but it really is this great greeny-greige (Martha Stewart Beach Sand color-matched to Behr Paint + Primer) that we used for my parent’s guest bedroom project.

It’s not too much of a change, but I will admit that every time I walk into my painted bathroom, I smile. Plus, it only cost me $33 – the price of a gallon of paint. Kate really is right … done is so, so good!

