Painting the front door has been on my to-do list for a while. With another semester done (straight A’s, thank you very much!) and two months of freedom until I start my position as a Graduate Teaching Assistant in the fall, I am finally able to get back to my ever-lengthening to-do list.

A few weeks ago, I stopped by Home Depot to pick up some paint swatches in various shades of blue and blue-green. In keeping with our beachy theme, we thought these hues would evoke thoughts of the ocean.


After slowly whittling down the swatches over a couple of days, we settled on a quart of Martha Stewart’s Salt Water color-matched to Behr satin exterior paint.

This is how it turned out:


I didn’t love the color – it seemed a little too gray for my taste but I was too lazy to re-paint it.

So I did the only logical thing I could think of – I added a brightly colored wreath to brighten up that dark blue-gray.


If you follow me on Pintrest, you know that I believe a wreath can change your life and this yellow wreath just makes the blue pop!

Now I can officially cross another “to-do” off my goals list! Holla! But by the looks of that last photo, maybe I should add “re-paint the porch” to it…whomp whomp.

What do you think of our newly blue door?

