I’m home sick today.

Since I spent most of the morning sleeping and watching Season 2 of Glee, I thought it might be a good idea to do a blog post now that it’s the afternoon.

Even when I’m sick, I can never NOT be productive in some capacity – you know what I mean?

Speaking of being productive, we did some yard work last Sunday – it was 93 degrees and we spent the day outside enjoying it. After a yummy BBQ lunch at McGonigles with Nate & De, we made a trip to Family Tree Nursery for flowers.

After some help from the guy who helped me make my succulent garden, we left with tons of flowers and were so excited to get them in the ground!






So beautiful, right? Our buddy at Family Tree helped us come up with some cool color combos for our pots – we are so excited to see how they’ll turn out once they’ve had some time to grow!

Unfortunately, they didn’t have any petunias so we had to make a quick trip to Home Depot for those, but anytime I can, I will always shop at Family Tree because they are so much more helpful, and their selection is so much better!



Oh, and Daniel put a bunch of mulch down – making the front yard look so pretty!


Do you see the magnolia tree? So gorgeous, right?



Oh, and the squirrels have already renewed their battle against us (read about it here and here).

But this time, I have a trick up my sleeve!

The folks at Family Tree introduced me to I Must Garden Squirrel Repellent.

According to their website:

I Must Garden Squirrel Repellents are made with all natural ingredients, including a proprietary blend of botanical oils that has been specially formulated to repel squirrels by both taste and smell. Our Squirrel Repellent contains ingredients to help the product stick longer and last longer on whatever you spray. Yet, all the ingredients are considered safe enough by the EPA that it doesn’t require registration as many toxic formulas do.

It’s also safe for dogs, which is super important to us. Oh, and it’s 100% guaranteed so if those squirrels aren’t deterred, I can return it for a full refund. Score!

One more thing, in case you didn’t notice, I started a Goals page on the blog to keep track of what we need to do. So take a look at it and send us some words of encouragement – it’s kind of long!

 

 

