Daniel and I live in a 950 sq. foot house…that doesn’t leave us a lot of room to display knickknacks we’ve collected on vacations or other memory-type items, so I decided to put together a “memory vase” for a simple way to display our memories.

I got my inspiration from one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love.



We keep several different types of “memories” in this vase…

Starting with our first anniversary trip to California, Daniel and I borrowed a tradition from Young House Love of mailing postcards to ourselves from our vacation destinations.


We write about our favorite vacation activities or, in the case of our trip to Carmel, directions to Nielsen’s Market. Nielsen’s has the BEST sandwiches and I wanted to introduce Daniel (and Andrew and Cori – our friends who traveled to California with us) to it. Unfortunately, my childhood memories of the market did not include the name of the market or how to get there, so we spent a lot of time looking for it. We heard different directions on how to get there from every person we asked but once we finally found it, we bought a postcard and wrote the directions down so we wouldn’t forget. Now we’ll never have to get directions from anyone again!


We also keep stubs from the various concerts, sporting events, musicals and plays we’ve attended…



So that’s a simple way we keep the memories alive…

What are ways that you display your memories?

