I work (essentially) alone.

While I used to be a highly functioning person, the isolation at work has caused my ability to socialize with others to deteriorate rapidly over the past two years. Just the other day, I bumped into a lamp and apologized to it. I am THAT starved for human interaction…

You might be wondering, “what does this have to do with eating healthy?”

Well, I’m getting to that.

Because I am so starved for attention, I have a mental fight with myself every day at lunchtime because my heart wants to go out and get food from a restaurant (just for the human interaction) but my brain is reminding me that eating out = too many calories.

I’ve been reading (never)homemaker for awhile now and they are always posting healthy recipes and good exercise tips. A few weeks ago, they did a post about making a Lean Cuisine meal a little healthier (because while they ARE low in fat, they are also usually pretty high in sodium).

I was intrigued (and I had a sweet potato that needed to be eaten) so I gave it a try…

Image via leancuisine.com

image via self.com

Just heat a sweet potato and scoop out the insides into a Lean Cuisine mac and cheese meal.

So easy, right?

It was actually pretty good, but is it bad that I wanted to add some salt to it? Lean Cuisines are salty enough but I thought the sweet potato kind of diluted the flavor.

Have you tried something like this?

I need some more creative and healthy eating options for work to keep my human-interaction-starved-brain from heading out to Chipotle or some other calorie-laden restaurant.

