This weekend we went to my parent’s house in Lincoln, NE to paint my old bedroom and turn it into an office for my mom. This is what my bedroom looked like for the last 26 years:



Dismal, right? Well, it actually was covered with posters when I lived there but has been more bare in recent years. We had 48 hours to turn it into a suitable office, so we got right to work.


After two long days, it went from sky blue to a serene green:

The paint color is Martha Stewart’s “Beach Sand.” We used a gallon of her paint from Home Depot and weren’t super impressed. While the color was beautiful, the paint wasn’t that great. It required two coats, while Behr’s Paint Plus Primer (which we normally use) only needs one. Lesson learned. The curtains are from West Elm (On sale! Extra 20% off!). I think I may have converted my mom into a West Elm lover…


That desk is a $20 Craigslist find – we didn’t have time to paint it this weekend but next time we go to Lincoln we’ll paint it light gray. My mom graciously agreed to use it “as is” for now. Also, the blankets on the bed aren’t permanent. My mom has this bedding from West Elm in mind:

We also want to get a new light for the room, but we’re still trying to figure out what would look best. My mom also wants to get platform bed frame eventually. So much to think about!

In addition to painting the bedroom, we also hung new curtains in the living room and dining room (Daniel raised the curtain rod to accommodate the new 96 inch curtains) and Daniel replaced my parents’ doorbell. We also made a trip to Trader Joe’s between visits with my brothers, sister-in-law, nieces and nephew.

All in all, a busy weekend but very productive.

Did you do any DIY projects this weekend?

