Spring has sprung and we have been hard at work making the bungie look beautiful. We’ve done a lot of landscaping and I can’t wait to show you guys some amazing before and after pics. But that’s not what this post is about…

The title of this post is a reference to a old 311 song that I used to sing as a teenager and not have ANY idea what it was referring to. But today, I can tell you EXACTLY who has the herb(s). That would be ME!

I wanted to start growing some of my own herbs (the LEGAL kind!) but wanted to find a way to make it look cute and decorative. So I went to my favorite nursery, Family Tree Nursery, and picked up 4 terracotta pots and a couple of my favorite go-to herbs for cooking (rosemary, cilantro, and chives), then went home to see what I could come up with. Once home, I grabbed my chalk pen (probably my favorite creative invention EVER) and went to work. This is what I came up with…

The basil I decided to start from seed – not sure why…we’ll see how that goes. So, here’s the breakdown of the cost for this project:

4 terracotta pots – $3.56
Potting soil – free (we had some left over from our vegetable garden project)
Chalk pen – free (already had it)
Cilantro, Chive, and Rosemary plants – $5.97
Basil seeds – $1.39
Total: $10.92

Hopefully this will be $11.00 well spent because we do a lot of cooking and it will be nice to get fresh herbs from our backyard. What do you think?

More to come on our spring home sprucing….

