The West Elm in Leawood (a suburb of Kansas City) is closing. The first cool, affordable home store in KC is closing after only 12 months. I am so mad! But, since I am trying to look on the bright side in 2010, I thought I would go around my house and take stock of all the great West Elm finds I’ve acquired over the last year.

Orange bamboo blanket - my favorite for watching TV

The tribal rug was a floor model and I got it for $5 this summer!

Nesting cubes...originally $229, bought for $25!

No, I did not get Turk at West Elm. But that shag rug was also a floor model purchased for $5!

Futon and pillows....yup, West Elm.

Appetizer plate purchased at 40% off for $1.95! Doesn't it make my headbands look cute?

Pretty vase ... less than $10!

Paperwhite bulbs.... $3!!

So much West Elm-iness! Curtain - $22, curtain rod - $23, floating shelves - $25 each, orange linen magazine box and file box - cheap (can't remember how much), chair - $18, desk - $199.

All of the curtain rods in our house are West Elm (bought on clearance), our bed is West Elm (bought on sale!), along with the new sheets and duvet that I just bought just a few days ago at 40% off. Pictures of those will follow when I (finally) post pics of the bedroom. Basically, I love West Elm and am so bummed it’s closing. Well, it’s been good while it lasted. I guess all that money I spent can be put towards our debt purchases at Pottery Barn.

Au revoir, West Elm! You will be missed!

