If you follow me on Pinterest, you know I have a slight wreath obsession.


The problem with pinning is that I pin and pin and I never actually follow through on any of my pinspirations. Thankfully, there are people like Kate who reminded me of the Fall installment of Young House Love’s Pinterest Challenge. Oh JOY!


Of course I missed the deadline, but it’s cool to be fashionably late, right? So, this weekend I decided to STOP PINNING and START DOING when it comes to my unhealthy obsession with wreaths.

Here was my pinspiration photo:


After a quick trip to Joann, I returned with a wreath form, and Excelsior moss, natural filler, and some paddle wire. My bestie Deanna provided the glue gun. Rufus supervised.



The basic premise of making this kind of wreath is just to stretch out the moss and glue with wild abandon. As you stretch and glue, your wreath will start to look like this…


Once the moss was on just the way I liked it, I attached the natural filler, which basically looks like Safflower or Craspedia, with the paddle wire.


To attach them, I strung the paddle wire through the middle of about 4-5 at a time, then bent and arranged them how I liked it. Once they were exactly how I wanted them, I hot glued them into place. By the end, it looked like this…


This is how it looked on the door…


What do you think? The total cost for this project was about $8 (with a coupon) so I am pretty psyched! I am linking this up to Young House Love and Bower Power, where you can see all the other awesome Pinterest Challenge submissions!

* To follow me on Pinterest, click here! Fair warning, Pinterest is addictive. *